Crock Pot/Crack Pot and Southwestern Pork Recipe

This week, I will wrap up my second series of classes on simple crock pot cooking.  The first was offered as a discipleship at my church, the second at a local group home for girls aging out of foster care.  I’ve gotten a great deal of ego-building feedback for this venture, and generally, I would take credit where credit is due.  However, the credit is not due me.

Here’s the crack pot part:  The cooking classes are God’s idea.  I am involved in a conversation at my church, Trinity Lutheran  in Boonsboro, about how we can be better disciples.  Let me tell you, I am convinced that I am not going to be the woman God calls to sell my possessions and go to a third world country to serve Him.  I am sure.  What He has called me to do is to identify the gifts I have been given, and to use those freely and without doubt.  God told me to offer a cooking class, and has affirmed His message through the response to the class.  Call me a crack pot, but God speaks to me, and I listen.  At least this time….

My goal for these classes was to provide home cooks with simple, budget friendly meals that could be prepared in 10 minutes or less, and left in the crock pot to cook while the rest of life takes place.  There are thousands of great crock pot recipes out there, and I encourage you to try them.  However, my focus has been to do little or no “pre-cooking” or “remove from pot and add” kind of stuff.  Put it in the pot, turn it on, and return 6-8 hours later and serve dinner.  Here is an easy example of such a meal:

Southwestern Pork

2-4 pound boneless pork roast (not pork loin)                               1 15 ounce can of hominy

1 15 ounce can of black beans (rinsed and drained)                      1 14.5 ounce can of diced tomatoes with green chilis*

1 pkt of taco seasoning**

Spray your crock pot with a nonstick cooking spray.  Place pork in the bottom of the pot.  Top with remaining ingredients and cook on low setting for 6-8 hours.

Before serving, use a fork and knife to shred the pork right in the pot.  Garnish with sour cream, shredded cheddar, and/ or fresh cilantro.

Try serving with soft tortillas to make pork tacos.

Makes 4-6 generous servings for about $1.15 per serving.

*If you have an abundance of fresh tomatoes, peel and dice 2 cups, along with a diced jalapeno and substitute for the canned tomatoes.

**If you have a well stocked spice cupboard, use your own variation of “southwest” spices such as cumin, chili powder, salt and pepper instead of the packet of seasoning.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment